Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Current conservation issue when integrating charge density

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am working with an AC/DC, 3D, Stationary, Electric Currents model.

I am currently studying charge density between deep brain stimulation electrodes of different surface areas and geometries. To represent an oversimplified electrode, we created a cylinder with high conductivity (1e10 S/m) and a point current source at it's center. The cylinder was in a conductive medium similar to the brain, 0.2 S/m.

When evaluating this simplified problem, I encountered some error that seems violate current conservation. Specifically, I am finding 47% error between the point current source (0.001 A) and the integral of current density (ec.normJ) over the surface area of the cylinder.

Note: I did conduct a mesh convergence study - below the current mesh size (0.00002), the error does not notably improve.

I then explored this issue with different geometries (spheres, ellipsoids, cubes, rectangular boxes, etc). See page 1 of the attached TroubleshootingComsol.pdf for the results. To quickly summarize, symmetric geometries - spheres and cubes - integrate to a current within 2% error. However, non symmetric geometries, ellipsoids, cylinders, rectangular boxes - have unacceptable integration error (11-63%).

*****Question: Any ideas of the possible sources of error in the simple problem? Any suggestions to further troubleshoot?