Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

band gap phononic crystal help

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I am new to Comsol and trying to calculate simple 2D, band gap but I am lost. Any instructions or tutorials please.

Thank you.

5 Replies Last Post 25 janv. 2016, 12:47 UTC−5

Posted: 10 years ago 23 déc. 2014, 00:44 UTC−5
You might start with the photonic band gap example in wave optics module. Settings of these two simulations are quite the same.
You might start with the photonic band gap example in wave optics module. Settings of these two simulations are quite the same.

Posted: 9 years ago 10 juin 2015, 17:45 UTC−4
thanks for your suggestion, but I am using comsol 4.4 and I do not have wave optics module, and I am lost while trying to modify the photonic crystal example.

But I have done some thing like following (2D square Lattice, solid cylinder in solid matrix),but I did not get the z-mode (longitudinal mode), just the transverse mode only:

1. used acoustic-structure interaction, elastic wave (elw) module
2. chose both domain linear elastic material.
3. Floquet periodicity (1,4) and (2,3) boundaries.
4. took the parametric sweep for kx = 0 to pi/a
5. finally got kx vs freq (derived values > global evaluation),

but this kx vs freq gave me just transverse modes only, longitudinal mode missing. I am lost. Please suggest me how to get longitudinal modes.
Also I am having problem with liquid matrix with solid scatterer.

Thank You.