Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Maximum value at each point

Eyal Spier COMSOL Employee

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi there,
I'm fairly new to Comsol so please excuse me if the question is trivial:
I have modelled the temperature profile in 3D for a slab that is heated intermittently from either side. What I now require is the maximum value at each point - as the system goes through non-reversible changes at particular temperatures, I would like to generate a chart (pie or bar) showing the following:
-Percentage which never reaches 45 °C (raw)
-Percentage which reaches between 45 and 50 °C (rare)
- Percentage which reaches between 50 and 55°C (medium)
- Percentage which reaches between 55 and 60 °C (medium-well)
- Percentage which reaches between 60 and 65 °C (well)
- Percentage which reaches above 65 °C (dead)
Is there a simple way for generating this data? Essentially I just require those 6 numbers!
Thank you very much in advance!

8 Replies Last Post 22 déc. 2015, 01:04 UTC−5
Sven Friedel COMSOL Employee

Posted: 1 decade ago 19 août 2013, 05:31 UTC−4
Dear Eyal,

the attached model illustrates on a 1D model how what you want can be achieved.
The envelope of the temperature (maximum in time), can be obtained by integrating an additional domain ODE.

The integration of parts of the envelope that are located in a certain interval can be achieved by integration in derived values.

Given the special circumstances I leave the details up to you. We can talk about it tomorrow.

Best regards,

Sven