Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Laminar flow model with two inlets, one outlet, and a vacuum pump

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello. I am new to comsol.

I am currently trying to model a cylindrical region in COMSOL (Laminar Flow Interface) that operates in the laminar flow regime. I am using one side of the cylinder to input Helium gas while simultaneously pumping on the other end. Half way down the cylinder is a pinhole that acts as an outlet. There is also a water drop in front of the pinhole which is intended to model a water droplet (the sample). I have set this drop as another inlet to simulate the evaporation rate. Finally, I set the outlet pressure to about 1 Pascal to simulate a region further down in the system (not part of the geometry).

The goal of this simulation is to set the evaporation rate of the water as constant and determine the most efficient input rate for the helium (a.k.a. the lowest) and pumping rate for the vacuum while maintaining a pressure of about 10 mbar (1000 Pa) throughout the cylinder (except at the pinhole). Once those rates are determined, I need to measure the flow rate out the pinhole.

I have been able to set the model up so far but there are several things that I am unsure of:

What exactly is the [static pressure at no flow parameter] for the vacuum pump?
My understanding was that it was the pressure associated with the throughput (q=P*dV/dt) of the vacuum pump. But this value seems to set the pressure of the entire cylindrical region in my simulation. This could be as expected but I wasn't sure if I was interpreting that parameter incorrectly.

I have currently set the wall boundary conditions to no slip which was the default but I wasn't sure when the slip condition was applicable. What are some example situations where the slip condition should used?