Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Eccentricity in Rotating Electrical Machines

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear all COMSOL experts,

I am a rotating electrical machine designer and I would like to study a machine under eccentricity fault. I aim to study a 2D geometry with the AC-DC package and in particular rotating machinery package. Is it possible to do such a study in comsol? My concerns are the following:

- usually for rotating machines the center of rotation is considered to be centered in the origin (0,0). As far as I know I always done like that in order to get reliable values of electromagnetic quantities, in particular about the electromagnetic torque. For eccentricity is it possible to prescribe rotation also around another axis getting fair values or is it better to change the stator position accordingly?

- in order to set up the mesh for time stepping simulation, how can I do? For healthy rotating machines (no accentricity) the mesh geometrical constraint is set by a pair formation along the airgap. However in this situation it does not work. Is there any other kind of method for dealing with an air-gap which is changing thickness at each time step?

- is it possible to simulate dynamic eccentricity? In this case the rotor will rotate around his axis which is displaced by the healthy one, and at the same time it will be whirling with a certain vrotational velocity around the healthy axis. In this case the axis position along which the rotor is really rotating is varying his coordinates at each time step. Is it possible by any chance to set up a simulation like this one?

Do you have any kind of advice?
If you have any advice or suggestion I will be really grateful.

Sincerely,
Nicola

2 Replies Last Post 9 août 2016, 03:25 UTC−4
COMSOL Moderator

Hello Nicola Chiodetto