Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Integral over a arbitrary path

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am new to COMSOL. I am interested to calculate the characteristic impedance of a co-planar waveguide in the RF module. I am referring the example "Finding the Impedance of a Coaxial Cable" for the same. In the example to calculate the current, the Magnetic field is evaluated around the external boundary.
I was actually interested to evaluate the integral along any arbitrary path apart from the boundary of the conductors which are Perfect Electrical Conductor.

The issues are facing the problem:
1. I am not able to define an arbitrary path without affecting the Meshing of the geometry which makes the evaluated value very much path dependent.
2. If I try to do a post processing without defining any path in the geometry, the "derived values" section of Results Tab is not allowing me to define any path except of the boundaries which were already present.

Can somebody suggest a best way find the characteristic impedance of the waveguide in RF module?

3 Replies Last Post 24 févr. 2017, 08:01 UTC−5
Robert Koslover Certified Consultant

Posted: 9 years ago 29 juin 2015, 23:35 UTC−4