Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Vortex Shedding

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am new to comsol (v3.5a) and am trying to teach myself. I would like to (eventually) model vortex shedding of a tapered pole, working through some intermediate steps. I have looked at the cylinder flow and obstacle in fluid models as a starting point. I have tried extending the cylinder flow model into 3-D and using just a cylinder in the obstacle model, but I have not been able to get a transient solution. I am also unable to get any solution for a RE >~500. Also, I would like to introduce motion into the cylinder flow model to simulate vibration of the pole. Any suggestions?

thanks

7 Replies Last Post 12 déc. 2014, 12:55 UTC−5

Posted: 1 decade ago 29 juil. 2010, 16:05 UTC−4

I am new to comsol (v3.5a) and am trying to teach myself. I would like to (eventually) model vortex shedding of a tapered pole, working through some intermediate steps. I have looked at the cylinder flow and obstacle in fluid models as a starting point. I have tried extending the cylinder flow model into 3-D and using just a cylinder in the obstacle model, but I have not been able to get a transient solution. I am also unable to get any solution for a RE >~500. Also, I would like to introduce motion into the cylinder flow model to simulate vibration of the pole. Any suggestions?

thanks

Hi Brian,

Can you be more specific on what didn't work?

3D cylinder in the flow should not be a problem. Movement of the cylinder is tricky, but using ALE eventually you can do that too. Try and when you get stuck post here, and we can check what possibly went wrong.

Danial