Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Partition Imported Geometry

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I'm trying to partition a geometry that I've imported from Solidworks. I've introduced a workplane and drawn a rectangle where I wish to split the geometry to obtain different domains. After this I tried converting the rectangle into the solid, however keep getting an error that says, "output object is empty".

Also can I refine a mesh within a single domain? The purpose behind partitioning the domains is to refine it without any hassle.

Would appreciate any help. I'm kind of new to this.

4 Replies Last Post 27 oct. 2014, 12:43 UTC−4
Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 10 years ago 16 oct. 2014, 16:27 UTC−4
Hello Arjun,
If you can, use 4.4: we've introduced a Boolean Operation called "Partition" that lets you do what you want easily.
Best,
Jeff
Hello Arjun, If you can, use 4.4: we've introduced a Boolean Operation called "Partition" that lets you do what you want easily. Best, Jeff

Posted: 10 years ago 16 oct. 2014, 17:17 UTC−4
Hi Jeff,

I appreciate your help. Unfortunately I only have access to 4.3b. Any tricks you recommend in this?

Regards,

Arjun
Hi Jeff, I appreciate your help. Unfortunately I only have access to 4.3b. Any tricks you recommend in this? Regards, Arjun

Robert Koslover Certified Consultant

Posted: 10 years ago 16 oct. 2014, 22:13 UTC−4
Have you tried combining your geometry with various rectangular blocks (to separate it into the parts you want) using Boolean operations such as difference and intersection?