Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Magnetic induction

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

hello,

I am a newbie of COMSOL. I am trying to simulate magnetic induction with RF frequency between two metal rods. I am fail to induce a current, Can someone kindly give me some advices? Details are listed below:

I have generated a time-varying current with "frequency domain" study (range (50, 5, 60)), which induces a varying magnetic field. However, there is no induced current on the other rod. I can see there is electric field on the other rod, but no induced current and the corresponed magentic field.

Please find the attached images for more detail.
I cannot attached the model file since the size is too large.

4 Replies Last Post 22 sept. 2014, 13:02 UTC−4

Posted: 10 years ago 19 sept. 2014, 04:44 UTC−4
Here is my attached model
Here is my attached model

Robert Koslover Certified Consultant

Posted: 10 years ago 19 sept. 2014, 11:31 UTC−4
A quick look at your model shows several severe problems with your boundary conditions.
(1) On one of these rods you have placed lumped coaxial ports. ?? But there is nothing coaxial in your problem.
(2) On the other rod, you have set perfect magnetic conductor (PMC) boundary conditions. That makes no sense either. PMC conditions force the magnetic field lines to be perpendicular to the surface. Why would your cylinder have magnetic field lines perpendicular to its surface?
(3) Even if you fix those two major problems, your external sphere is too small. But then, that's probably the least of the issues here.