Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

A SMALL DOUBT ON PORT POWER VALUE !

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all,

I am new to this software and I am trying to simulate a multi-layer structure on which plane electromagnetic wave is allowed to fall at normal incidence. I kept the port power at the default value(1 W) and after running the program I tried to check the power at the port 1. For that I use line integration to calculate sqrt(emw.Poavy^2 +emw.Poavx^2), but to my surprise the values I am getting is smaller than 1.

Can any one help me.
Thanks in advance...

5 Replies Last Post 29 nov. 2013, 01:32 UTC−5
Robert Koslover Certified Consultant

Posted: 1 decade ago 20 nov. 2013, 13:31 UTC−5
Believe it or not, this is a feature, not a bug! When you specify the power going into the port, you are NOT actually forcing the boundary condition there into a state where it will actually have that net-overall power going into the port. Rather, you are only setting the forward-going power at that port. In general, there will also be a reverse-going power there, due to reflections or impedance mismatches somewhere in your system. This fact allows the proper computation of parameters such as S_11 (where the port is port #1), for example. When you do your integral of the power density over the port, both forward-directed and reverse-directed power flow is included, which is why you got less than 1W. (Note also that to get accurate numbers, you should generally mesh your ports relatively finely.)