Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Generating lamb waves in aluminium plate using piezoelectric transducer..

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

hi....
I am new to comsol and i am facing the problem in generating lamb wave in comsol.my problem is very simple in which i generate a lamb wave in aluminum plate using PZT actuator at one point and i sense voltage at other point using PZT sensor. I have done 2D plain strain modelling.the dimesions of plate are sufficiently large to avoid sensing of the reflections. i have followed following steps....
1. Created a 2D geometry.
a) Rectangle 1 - Aluminum plate
b) Rectangle 2- Piezo actuator.
c) Rect. 3- Piezo sensor.
2. Assigning material
a) Al plate (defined it as a linear elastic material)- (E,mu,density)
b) Actuator and sensor- PZT 5A
3. In piezoelectric devices.
a) Coordinate system selected for PZT material as XZ.
b)Linear elastic material - Rect.1(Aluminum)
c)Ground - edge of sensor and actuator which is in contact with plate.
d)Electric potential - Hanned voltage applied over the top edge of actuator.
4. Meshing- Used a mapped mesh of size 0.2 mm and divided the actuator and sensor in 3 layers.
5.Study-
a) step1 time dependent - range(0,1.0e-7,1.5e-4)
b) Time stepping - Strict
and i have solved it. when i sense the output at the center point of the sensor i found out that the maximum voltage is closed to 5 volts. and ase per the paper which i am validating it should be close to 3 volts. I have also modeled it in abaqus and i got rigth results inn abaqus.
I am having an answer for a simple cantilver beam wich is like two layer beam with one layer of piezoelectric material and other of that of aluminum with this model also i found out the anaswer in abaqus and available answers are matching but the answer in COMSOL and abaqus are not matching..