Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Trouble making magnetic flux lines appear

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hey everyone,
I am trying to test the flux leakage from a solenoid (in DC) given a variety of core shapes. I am new to Comsol and, after a bit of playing, decided to simplify the problem to the field generated by a cylinder, and then to build the solenoid back up to make the analysis more thorough.
I am using the AC/DC module, and I have a cylinder with potentials at both ends. When running Comsol, the potential shows up on the cylinder, but I get no flux lines.
I've tried grounding one end, adding surface currents ( under boundary settings and subdomain settings and edge settings).
I feel I am missing something elementary here; as I mentioned, I am new to Comsol so any help would be appreciated!
Further (and finally), is there any way to create a helix or solenoid in 3.5? I found tutorials for 4.2 but the interface is completely different so I have no idea how to start it.
Thanks in advance!
Jonathan

3 Replies Last Post 29 janv. 2013, 05:26 UTC−5

Posted: 1 decade ago 28 janv. 2013, 03:30 UTC−5
Hey,

my guess is:
- you don't see any flux lines because there is no magnetic flux
- as you can find in postprocessing, magnetic flux density and magnetic vector potential is zero in your whole model
- the reason for this might be that there is no source term in your magnetic and electric fields interface
- try to bring an electric current density source into that interface with the current density from the electric currents interface (ec.Jx, ec.Jy, ec.Jz) as the source expression terms