Modelling induced voltage on burried pipelines due to 3 phase systems

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi folks,

I'm new to COMSOL. In the recent past I did some (periodic) steady state simulations on the electric and magnetic fields of high voltage infrastructure. Now I would like to model the induced voltages on a buried pipeline due to neighbouring power lines. I have little clue how to start so I was wondering if anyone could help sketching a rough outline how to approach this problem. I would like to model the following situation:

• A three phase powerline system (preferable modelled via edges).
  • The three phase powerline systems carries a 50 Hz AC current (preferably via edge currents) with a 120 degree phase shift between the phases
  • A steel pipeline burried pipeline is in close proximity to the powerline. This might be modeled as a real pipeline (e.g. a circular sheet of metal) but I guess that modeling the pipeline as a metal rod decreases complexity and simulation times. I think this is kind of modeling is also sufficient but than the coating resistance (see next point) should be changed accordingly.
  • The burried pipeline has a some insulating coating between the pipeline and the surrounding soil. This this coating is not perfect, so there will be a resistance to ground for every part of the pipeline (say e.g. 6000 Ohm*m).
  • The burried pipeline contains one or multiple earthing points (a location with e.g. a steel rod in the ground such that pipeline is electrically connected with the surrounding soil via a low resistance (e.g. 1 Ohm). I think the best way to model such an earthing point would be to tie a (ideal) electrical resistance between the steel pipeline and the surrounding soil instead of modeling the earthing rot explicitly (if possible).