Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

volume force on dispersed phase only?

David Roos Launchbury

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

hi everyone

i am relatively new to comsol and ran into a perhaps simple problem:

i'm simulating a two-phase mixture model in the chemical engineering module. i want the dispersed solid phase to be influenced by a volume force from another physics model.

if i specify that force in the physics tab of my mixture subdomain, obviously the entire fluid is influenced by this force (same if i apply gravity). is it possible to specify that force so that only the dispersed phase is influenced and not the continuous phase?

any help would be greatly appreciated.

greetings
dave

7 Replies Last Post 2 juil. 2013, 17:20 UTC−4
COMSOL Moderator

Hello David Roos Launchbury

Your Discussion has gone 30 days without a reply. If you still need help with COMSOL and have an on-subscription license, please visit our Support Center for help.

If you do not hold an on-subscription license, you may find an answer in another Discussion or in the Knowledge Base.

Posted: 1 decade ago 11 févr. 2011, 03:48 UTC−5
Hi!

I am interested about the same problem. Have you solved with the subdomain force for mixture?

Thanks!
Narcis
Hi! I am interested about the same problem. Have you solved with the subdomain force for mixture? Thanks! Narcis

Posted: 1 decade ago 14 mars 2011, 10:24 UTC−4
hi

I have the same problem. I want to simulate water droplet in oil with the gravity force just applied to the water droplet.
how can i do this ??
hi I have the same problem. I want to simulate water droplet in oil with the gravity force just applied to the water droplet. how can i do this ??