Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Numerical Simulation of Magnetorheological Fluid in Magnetic Field

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

It is known that magnetorheological fluid presents controllable yield stress under external magnetic

field. I want to know whether the yield stress shown by magnetorheological fluid under magnetic field can

be simulated with the software of COMSOL Multiphysics and which modules of COMSOL Multiphysics will be

used to deal with the simulation, which means that how the software of COMSOL Multiphysics can do with the

coupled magnetic field, fluid and stress analysis of magnetorheological fluid.

It is my first time to submit a question here, so i hope you will be magnanimous enough to excuse any

mistakes in my question. Thanks!

4 Replies Last Post 17 sept. 2013, 16:38 UTC−4

Posted: 1 decade ago 9 juil. 2012, 07:43 UTC−4
I think,

You should choose from AC/DC module-statics, magnetics-and the appropriate alternative for you..

For the rheological part you should choose from the chemical engineering module-momentum transport-laminar flow-nonnewtonian flow-steadystate analysis.

The volumetric forces in the non newtonian flow mode which are affected by the magnetic field will couple the two modules.

You can add an additional module heat transfer and add heat sources (defined with magnetic variables) if needed.

(These modules are from 3.5a)

You should find appropriate examples and models, and papers.

Thats all I can say.

Good luck

Atilla