Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Deformation of liquid droplet

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am new to COMSOL, so I am referencing a work on deformation of liquid droplet impacting a solid surface. I tried to recreate the same model as that work. But I ran into several problems. As I tracked the steps taken by solver, at a certain time, the volume fraction of liquid would suddenly turn into 0.5 all over the domain. My result just doesn't seem right.

Also, I want to track the contact angle between liquid and solid surface, but I don't know how. Should I set up some new geometry?

Here is the link to the work I am referring to: www.comsol.com/papers/8116/

Attachment is my model. Please take a look at it and show me a right direction. I'm using version 4.3

Thank you!

10 Replies Last Post 6 oct. 2014, 08:49 UTC−4

Posted: 1 decade ago 19 juin 2012, 08:48 UTC−4
This is a simple model: 2-D axisymmetric, Laminar Two-Phase Flow, a water droplet falls down onto a solid surface due to gravity. I want to model the deformation process of the droplet after hitting to the ground. But my result is rather than dropping down to the ground and deformting, the droplet would suddenly spread all over the air domain.
This is a simple model: 2-D axisymmetric, Laminar Two-Phase Flow, a water droplet falls down onto a solid surface due to gravity. I want to model the deformation process of the droplet after hitting to the ground. But my result is rather than dropping down to the ground and deformting, the droplet would suddenly spread all over the air domain.

Posted: 1 decade ago 22 août 2012, 13:20 UTC−4