Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to Couple Free and Porous Media Flow with Heat Transfer In Solids

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi Everyone,

I am new to COMSOL and I am trying to simulate a solar panel cooling system. I am trying to simulate in 2D the heat transfer between a thin rectangular layer (the photovoltaic cell), another thin rectangular layer (thermal paste), and finally a porous layer through which water is flowing. Ultimately, I want specify a heat flux and initial temperature on the top layer (PV cell) and obtain the heat removed and temperature change achieved by using the porous media as a heat sink. I can couple the heat transfer between the 2 solid layers easily, however, I am having trouble simulating the heat transfer between all three layers (i.e. PV cell, thermal paste, and porous media).

Currently, I am using the following physics packages:

"Free and Porous Media Flow" - Models water flow through porous media
"Heat Transfer in Porous Media" - Models heat transfer in porous media layer
"Heat Transfer in Solids" - Models heat transfer in top two layers

My problem is that I can't get the top layers to "talk to" the porous media layer.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Brad

6 Replies Last Post 24 juin 2014, 07:51 UTC−4
COMSOL Moderator

Hello Bradley Fontenault

Your Discussion has gone 30 days without a reply. If you still need help with COMSOL and have an on-subscription license, please visit our Support Center for help.

If you do not hold an on-subscription license, you may find an answer in another Discussion or in the Knowledge Base.

Posted: 1 decade ago 15 août 2013, 11:01 UTC−4
Hi Brad,