Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to apply boundary loads

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

So far I only used comsol for meshning. Now I wanted to solve a structure. I can do It with prescribed displacement, now I wanted to do it with boundary loads. But for some reason I cannot solve my structure. Can somebody explain me where my problem lies? (As I have little experience, the problem is most likely trivial)

10 Replies Last Post 19 avr. 2016, 13:35 UTC−4

Posted: 1 decade ago 13 févr. 2012, 04:05 UTC−5
Ok, I try to describe the problem again. I want to aplly constant forces on a system in a certain direction. I do this by boundary loads. It is a cube. All other surfaces are free. Comsol doesn't find a soution. I do not know what I am doing wrong.
Ok, I try to describe the problem again. I want to aplly constant forces on a system in a certain direction. I do this by boundary loads. It is a cube. All other surfaces are free. Comsol doesn't find a soution. I do not know what I am doing wrong.

Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 13 févr. 2012, 06:21 UTC−5
Hi

first of all in your model, your Material 2 has probably a wrong Young modulus, I suspect you are missing 1E9 as it looks like aluminium spheres (but I might be wrong ;)

If you apply a pressure it's always perpendicular to the surface. but you can change from pressure, to Total force (in Newton, COMSOl looks after Area calculations, and Surface loads in N/m^2 (basically Pascal) but independently for all 3 directions

Then its better to fix one boundary and appply the load on the other part. if you use symmetry, take care to block all free DoF otherwise your solver will have problems finding a solution

--
Good luck
Ivar