Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Inconsistent heat flux

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I am new to COMSOL and am having trouble with inconsistent heat flux results.

I made a simple model consisting of three blocks. Blocks 2 and 3 are completely enclosed inside block 1. Blocks 2 and 3 are copper while block 1 is stainless steel. I specified that block 2 is a heat source with a heat rate (p_0 = 10W) of 10W. Block 3 is at a constant temperature of 200K.

I measure the heat flux through block 3 by selecting all six of its surfaces and doing a surface integral over nxht.dfluxx + nyht.dfluxy + nz*ht.dfluxz.

When I run the simulation I would expect that the heat from block 2 heats up all of the material in block 1, increasing the temperature difference between block 1 and 3 until 10W flows into block 3. In other words, I expect that the heat added to the system by block 2 will be removed from the system by block 3.

However, when I run the simulation I find that only ~3.6W leaves the system via block 3.

Best Wishes Rocco

2 Replies Last Post 10 janv. 2019, 10:53 UTC−5
Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 6 years ago 3 janv. 2019, 13:32 UTC−5

Hello Rocco,

This Knowledge Base entry may help.

Jeff

PS: Note that if the temperature is fixed at 200K in domain 3, you should remove domain 3 from your geometry.

-------------------
Jeff Hiller
Hello Rocco, This [Knowledge Base entry](https://www.comsol.com/support/knowledgebase/973/) may help. Jeff PS: Note that if the temperature is fixed at 200K in domain 3, you should remove domain 3 from your geometry.

Posted: 6 years ago 10 janv. 2019, 10:53 UTC−5

Hi Jeff

Thank you very much for the help.

My mistake was that the fixed temperature boundary condition was completely contained inside my geometry.

Rocco