Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Random Initial Data help

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,
I'm a complete COMSOL beginner and am trying to figure out how to generate a set of random initial data in a simple PDE model. Is there a way to use randn or rand from MATLAB somehow in the INIT section?
Any information would be great.

thanks,
Andy

2 Replies Last Post 28 déc. 2009, 05:23 UTC−5

Posted: 1 decade ago 28 déc. 2009, 05:13 UTC−5
Hi Andy,
to be honest I really do not understand why you need to generate a random initial condition. If you can, more details would be very much appreciated. By the way, I guess that you can solve your problem by running Comsol with Matlab (whereas you have a valid licence). In this way, just type "rand(1,1)" in the related field of the "init" tab.
Moreover, if you need to generate a set of random values, run a parametric analysis, in which every parameter is a random value. Maybe that the best way to run such as analysis is into matlab environment. Save your job as .m file and then open it into matlab editor. Here, you are able to define your functions as input for your simulation.

Hope this is helpful,

Pasquale