Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Create Composite Object Error

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am very new to COMSOL and have had some troubles creating an object to simulate.
I am trying to create an electrode on top of a glass wafer. The electrode is made of two layers, one 5nm thick and one 150nm thick. I have made the wafer 1mm thick, and placed the 5nm followed by the 150nm sections of the electrode on top of the wafer. I have placed all of these inside a testable area of size 1cm by 1cm.

When I try to 'Create Composite Object' I set the formula as:
BLK1-EXT1-EXT2-EXT3-EXT4-EXT5
where EXT1 is the wafer and EXT2 through EXT5 are sections of the electrodes (there are two parts to each layer of the electrode).
However, I keep getting an error that says "internal error in geometry decomposition."

Does anyone know what this error means and how I can fix it? Like I said, I am very new to the COMSOL software, so I apologize for the likely rather simple question.
Thanks very much.

Michael

5 Replies Last Post 18 nov. 2010, 11:26 UTC−5
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 11 nov. 2010, 08:18 UTC−5
Hi

I suppose its related to the height/size ratios 5nm versus 1mm is 1:200'000, I never use ratios (for the mesher) largeer than 10'000 or if possible less.

The true question is what do you want to resolve within your 5nm layer? , cannot you replace its presence by a "thin layer" with a bulk equation form ?

Then have you calculated what it represents to have a 1nm (to have let's say 5 meshes across your 5 nm thick layer) sized mesh elements to fill several mm^3, probably you need a nice cluster just to fill one matrix, not to talk about solving

Finite elements are limited by the "finite" size of RAM on ourPC/WS's ;)

--