Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Electric Field from a point source

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi, I am new to COMSOL. I want to model a point source from which Electric Field spreads out in x,y directions. I am working in 2D plane.
I started of by creating a geometry with air, and then specified my point. How do I assign electric field to my point?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Regards

15 Replies Last Post 25 oct. 2016, 20:05 UTC−4
Robert Koslover Certified Consultant

Posted: 9 years ago 8 mars 2015, 23:38 UTC−4
Is this an RF or electrostatics problem? Are you talking about a point RF source or a point charge? If it is a stationary point charge, then this is an electrostatics problem. If so, you should specify a small circle (instead of a point) and put a constant potential on it. Then you'll get a radial E distribution.
Is this an RF or electrostatics problem? Are you talking about a point RF source or a point charge? If it is a stationary point charge, then this is an electrostatics problem. If so, you should specify a small circle (instead of a point) and put a constant potential on it. Then you'll get a radial E distribution.

Posted: 9 years ago 9 mars 2015, 06:37 UTC−4
Thanks for your reply. Its an RF problem. I have attached an image below how I want it to be.
Thanks for your reply. Its an RF problem. I have attached an image below how I want it to be.

Posted: 9 years ago 10 mars 2015, 19:00 UTC−4
I've attached an example.
I've attached an example.

Posted: 8 years ago 12 févr. 2016, 05:36 UTC−5
Hi Dear sir its very useful file. But once i simulated then its field is inverted as compared to yours plot. Then i needed to put -1A to get same like plot of yours, whereas you put 1A. Where am i making mistake?
Thanks & Regards