Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

beam buckling analysis

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,
I am trying to analysis a beam buckling under gravity with different boundary conditions.
It can be fixed-free or fixed-fixed but slided in one direction.
Can anyone give some suggestions about buckling?
I studied the truss tower example and it seems that the beam has to been under unit load for buckling analysis.
Is this right?
thanks for anything.

3 Replies Last Post 18 mars 2014, 09:53 UTC−4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 18 mars 2014, 02:39 UTC−4
Hi

If you use the "linear buckling analysis" study, it is based on a prestressed eigenfrequency analysis, so the output is a "security factor" with respect to the initial stress from the given load.
So if you give a "unit" load you have a security factor w.r.t. this unit load,
if you however define a nominal load, then your security factor is w.r.t. the nominal load value

For more, see Henrik's intersting blog on buckling :

www.comsol.eu/blogs/buckling-structures-suddenly-collapse/

--
Have fun COMSOLing
Ivar
Hi If you use the "linear buckling analysis" study, it is based on a prestressed eigenfrequency analysis, so the output is a "security factor" with respect to the initial stress from the given load. So if you give a "unit" load you have a security factor w.r.t. this unit load, if you however define a nominal load, then your security factor is w.r.t. the nominal load value For more, see Henrik's intersting blog on buckling : http://www.comsol.eu/blogs/buckling-structures-suddenly-collapse/ -- Have fun COMSOLing Ivar

Henrik Sönnerlind COMSOL Employee