Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Creep - Plasticity

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I want to use the non-linear structural mechanics module for simulation of plastic deformation by yielding. There is a creep module and a plasticity module. In the creep module, I find more suitable approaches. Could someone explain to me the difference between creep and plastic deformation? Until now I thought that it is the same but I am not an expert in this field.

6 Replies Last Post 14 sept. 2015, 06:43 UTC−4
Henrik Sönnerlind COMSOL Employee

Posted: 1 decade ago 17 mai 2013, 02:16 UTC−4
Hi,

The quick answer:

Creep is time dependent, while plasticity is not.

The longer version:

The terminology is not always clear, especially when we involve the term 'viscoplasticity'. Both events result in the same type of inelastic strains.

In COMSOL Multiphysics we have chosen to use 'Plasticity' for material models which you can use equally well in a stationary and a time dependent analysis, i.e. no time derivatives are involved in the constitutive relation.

In the creep models, the constitutive models is such that the time derivative of inelastic strain is a function of stress (and possibly temperature and time). Creep phenomena become important at higher temperatures (say > half the melting point)

'Viscoplasticity' can mean almost anything, from pure creep models to rate dependent plasticity (where the yield stress is strain rate dependent). The material model ('Anand') which in COMSOL Multiphysics is classified as viscoplastic is actually a creep model with a hardening law. But since it usually in the literature is called 'viscoplastic, we have adopted that terminology.

Regards,
Henrik