Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Problem at the boundary condition/Reactive transport modelling

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello Everyone, I am new to the COMSOL so i need a bit help here. I am modeling diffusion advection case with simple 1D. I try to simulate the injection of CO2. I am using "Transport of Diluted Species in Porous Media (tds)" in comosl 5.6. I have introduced following chemical equilibrium reactions with appropriate constant of equilibrium values for each reaction. This simulates the dissoultion of CaCO3 as result of CO2 injection.

1. H2O = H+ +OH-
  2. CO2 (aq) + H2O = H+ + HCO3-
  3. HCO3- = H+ +CO3 2-
  4. CaCO3 = Ca2+ + CO3 2-

the boundary conditions are "inflow" at the inlet where I inject CO2 with 100 mol/m^3 and “No flux” condition at the outlet (advection not included). I have a constant velocity of 1e-8 m/s and diffusion coefficient for all the species is equal to 1e-9 m^2/s. (No adsorption or dispersion) .

When I run the model I get satisfactory results. **The only problem is, when I check the total fluxes for different species at the inlet I get a non-zero value. In rules as I am injecting only CO2 I should not get any other inflows. **

I have attached the initial values and the total fluxes for CO2 and Ca++ at the inlet. ‘Line 1’ is for inlet and ‘Line 11’ is for outlet.

2 Replies Last Post 14 juin 2022, 06:46 UTC−4

Posted: 2 years ago 14 juin 2022, 04:30 UTC−4

Perhaps you have to explicitly define that the inflow of other species is zero.

Perhaps you have to explicitly define that the inflow of other species is zero.

Posted: 2 years ago 14 juin 2022, 06:46 UTC−4

yes the inflow of other species is zero. see the attached photo.

yes the inflow of other species is zero. see the attached photo.