Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

2 electrode electrolyte conductivity measurement

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hii all

I am quite new in Comsol but I want to make a 2 electrode conductivity sensor in Comsol. This sensor consist of two platinum electrodes with a AC voltage of 50 mV rms. These two electrodes have a double layer capacitance (Cdl) of 9.19E-4 F. The electrolyte I am using is KCL with an electrolyte conductivity of 331.6E-4 S/m and an electrolyte salt concentration of 2.106 mol/m^3.

Now my questions are: 1. How can I put a AC voltage on the two electrodes? 2. How can I add the Cdl parameter as a boundary condicition to the two electrodes?

I hope anyone can help me. I would really appreciate that.

Pien

1 Reply Last Post 7 févr. 2019, 11:48 UTC−5

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Posted: 5 years ago 7 févr. 2019, 11:48 UTC−5

Hi Pien,

If I understood you correctly, you simply want to apply AC current through a pair of electrodes stuck in a media. This can be done in COMSOL using the AC/DC module (you should have basic AC/DC capabilities in the base package if you didn't purchase the full module). After you selected the AC/DC physics, choose either a time-dependent domain study or frequency domain. I use time-dependent to accout for joule-heating but if you don't need to, frequency domain makes things 10x easier. Also, my AC fields are not necessarily continuous, so I defined them using an explicit function.