Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Heat transfer problem (varying temperature with time)

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hallo,
I am new in COMSOL and trying to run a simple heat transfer simulation in COMSOL (heat transfer in solid module). I want to simulate a time dependent temperature distribution for a simple geometry what i attached here and want to see the temperature changes over the whole domain. The problem is, i can't find the way to vary the temperature. For example i want the temperature profile like:
time(s) temperature(K)
1 297
2 298
... ....
236 533

So time interval is 1 second and temperature starts from 297 to 533 K.

Can anybody please tell me how can i vary the temperature with time that i can input as boundary condition (temperature node) or any possibility to import a tabular format (time and temperature) that i can use as input.

It would be really helpful for me to have the answer from anybody.

Thanks in advance.

5 Replies Last Post 3 févr. 2016, 10:05 UTC−5

Posted: 8 years ago 29 janv. 2016, 07:24 UTC−5
Hi Chironjeet,

you can store your time-temperature data in txt file and then import it into COMSOL. You can do this under definitions, then right click and choose function => interpolation. Here you can choose your txt file as input and import it. Here you must also choose a function name for this interpolation (e.g. my_temp). Instead of assigning a constant temperature at a boundary, you do now enter my_temp(t).

Kind regards,

Peter