Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

querying fem structure components

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all,

I am just getting into scripting and I have a pretty basic question which I couldn't resolve looking at the manuals (maybe I overlooked the relevant section).

Once a fem structure is defined in a Matlab m file, how do I later query its components of interest? What is the right syntax and/or appropriate functions for doing that?

For example, having defined constants as

fem.const = {'Tm','0[degC]', ...
'dT','0.1[K]', ...
'ld','334[J/g]', ...
'Cp_ice','2.108[kJ/kg/K ]'};

how do I later access the numerical value of, say, Tm? I tried obvious things like myvalue=fem.const.Tm which didn't work. Similarly, assuming I can query this constant, how should I extract or get rid of its units and work with only the numeric value? Is there a COMSOL scripting specific method for doing this or should I use usual Matlab's string manipulation functions...
Thanks much,

Ozgur

8 Replies Last Post 8 déc. 2009, 09:41 UTC−5
Lars Ottar Aschim Kvåle

Posted: 1 decade ago 28 sept. 2009, 10:31 UTC−4
Hi Ozgur,

To access the numerical value of a constant at the command prompt I have used this line;
Tm = str2double(fem.const{find(strcmp(fem.const,'Tm'))+1});

Now if your value contains units I'm not aware of any command to handle this at matlab command prompt. I've simply avoided using units when scripting.

Cheers
Lars Ottar Kvale
Hi Ozgur, To access the numerical value of a constant at the command prompt I have used this line; Tm = str2double(fem.const{find(strcmp(fem.const,'Tm'))+1}); Now if your value contains units I'm not aware of any command to handle this at matlab command prompt. I've simply avoided using units when scripting. Cheers Lars Ottar Kvale

Posted: 1 decade ago 28 sept. 2009, 14:57 UTC−4
Hi Lars,