Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Helix with managable ends

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi there. Im fairly new to Comsol. I am trying to model an evaporation champer of an absorption chiller. I descided to model the geometry in Comsol, since i have a load of import problems from Creo 2.0(study version). My problem at the moment(im sure i will have more problems) is, that the cooling cirkut cosist of two spirals made of cobber. Now i have used the Helix to create the spirals, the problem is now, how to i control where the end stops, so that i can stop it 180 degrees off of the inlet, and hopefully make a sweep to return to the flange where the pipe/spiral/helix starts. Hope someone can help me.
The pictures show how i would like the model to look like. The picture is from creo.
Kristian

4 Replies Last Post 20 janv. 2017, 07:21 UTC−5
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 9 years ago 10 sept. 2015, 02:02 UTC−4
Hi

Isnt that the "number" of turns of the Helix ? (in my 5.1 it seems so)

For your construction I would draw the central line and sweep along it. with workplaes at the end of the helix you can draw your 90° elbows easily.

Probably the "design" module would improve and ease the 3D handling as it incorporates far more of the third party Parasolid primitives (that is, I believe, the main cost behind the module ;)

--
Good luck
Ivar