Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to calculate the force on a permanent magnet due to surrounding winding current

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

This should be a simple model, but I am very new to comsol and cannot find the relevant tutorials.

I have a permanent magnet, then an air gap, then a coil going around the permanent magnet.

To model this I have created three rectangular geometries next to each other. The furthest left will be the permanent magnet, the middle is air, and the furthest right is copper. I have added an axial symmetry to the left boundary of the magnet. This means the copper surrounds the magnet with an air gap between.

I have added an external current to the copper domain, with a current density in the direction phi. This means the current goes around the copper ring. This simulates a multi winding coil with a current going through it.

------------------------------------------------------------
My Question

How do I turn the furthest left rectangle into a permanent magnet, and how do I calculate the force on it? Eventually I want to move the magnet up and down into different positions and calculate the force as a function of distance. But for now just calculating the force on the magnet from the electric field generated by the coil is enough.

1 Reply Last Post 4 mars 2015, 16:24 UTC−5
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Posted: 9 years ago 4 mars 2015, 16:24 UTC−5
Craig,

let's assume you are using the mf-approximation for your model.

- Assign a new Ampere's law to the magnet domain and set some magnetization or remanent flux density.
- Add a force calculation to the magnet domain