Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Meshing Across Many Orders of Magnitude

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello, I am quite new to COMSOL and I am having difficulty creating a mesh for my system which has components which scale from 60[mm]-[150nm]. I started with two coupled cavities which are [mm] scale with a small dielectric chip inside one of the cavities which is 450[um] thick and a few [mm] wide and tall. Everything was fine up to this point.
Now I am trying to add a square metal element 150[nm] thick and 500[um] sides onto the substrate. I first build a quadmesh onto the metal square with 20[um] elements and sweep it through the 150nm thickness. I then do a quadmesh on the substrate surface which starts out 20[um] minimum element size to [1mm] maximum with growth rate of 50. sweeping this and converting to tets all works fine except sometimes I get warnings

"Face is (or has a narrow region that is) much smaller than the specified minimum element size."

This is just a warning and not a breakout error of the meshing algo and I don't think its that big a deal. Now, when I try to do a tetra mesh on the outside cavity, I always get the error

"Failed to respect boundary element edge on geometry face."