Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Reflecting and absorbing boundaries

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I am new to Comsol. I would like to model some instantly released molecules inside a reservoir. The diffusion coff of these molecules is 6e-7 cm2/s. I have some questions about it.
1. How can i define the molecules in my model? can i define them an impulse in the middle of reservoir?
2. How can I define reflecting or absorbing boundaries inside the reservoir in Transport of diluted materials?
3. and also how can I find the flux rate in the absorbing boundaries?

Thanks much,

7 Replies Last Post 25 août 2014, 03:16 UTC−4

Posted: 10 years ago 20 août 2014, 05:00 UTC−4
Transport of diluted species is not suitable for tracking individual molecules, it works on the scale where one can speak of concentrations. I do not know if COMSOL is suitable for simulations of molecular interactions at all.
Transport of diluted species is not suitable for tracking individual molecules, it works on the scale where one can speak of concentrations. I do not know if COMSOL is suitable for simulations of molecular interactions at all.

Posted: 10 years ago 20 août 2014, 12:27 UTC−4
Actually I want to track the flux of the molecules on the absorbing boundary and not individual molecules. Also I would like to define some boundaries that reflect the flux back into the reservoir.

Thanks
Actually I want to track the flux of the molecules on the absorbing boundary and not individual molecules. Also I would like to define some boundaries that reflect the flux back into the reservoir. Thanks

Posted: 10 years ago 21 août 2014, 03:10 UTC−4