Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Selecting Edges and Displacing Geometry. Also, Equations to Generate Geometry.

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am new to COMSOL, only have a 28 day free trial, and I need to model fluid flow.

This question is really two part.

One, I would like to build a nozzle that has two different diameters but with a closed surface. I believe the simplest method would be "cone" geometry with diameter specified instead of angle. I need to negatively displace the second smaller diameter vertically. As a visual, I provide an image with two disks, and a linear Bezier polygon connecting the two disks. In front of the first connected images is a cone. I need to negatively displace the smaller diameter of the cone to a position that would allow creation of the geometry to the left but with a closed surface provided by the cone.

Next, I need to draw complex geometry within a section of a cylinder that will be attached to the smaller diameter of the geometrically manipulated cone. I have equations to describe the geometry from Mac Grapher in three dimensions. Is there a way to use similar equations to create geometry since I cannot import MAC grapher files to COMSOL?

Finally, is there a way to actually enclose the surface between two disks (see image) that would allow me to also create a closed surface model of my nozzle? I was going to use the Bezier method, but that seemed counter intuitive since a single line is drawn.

Thanks.

1 Reply Last Post 20 juil. 2014, 20:22 UTC−4

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Posted: 10 years ago 20 juil. 2014, 20:22 UTC−4
Hello,