Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

bandpass filter signal processing

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all,

I am very new to COMSOL, forgive me if I've asked silly questions...
Anyhow, my goal is to define some parameters (i.e. resistance, capacitance, and inductance) of a RLC bandpass filter, which would take a single short pulse (~1THz) and filter out "higher order" harmonics in frequency domain, retaining only the first harmonic, and finally convert it back to time domain.

So my question is, how do I go about obtaining some plots for time/freq domain for the signal alone? and throwing in the RLC circuit in there? PS I've done the tutorial for AC/DC module but didn't help too much.

Thanks in advance!

4 Replies Last Post 3 juin 2014, 12:43 UTC−4
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 1 decade ago 3 juin 2014, 06:41 UTC−4
Hi,

three comments regarding your question:

- You can simulate RLC circuits in COMSOL, but

- It sounds like this is a task for a circuit simulator like SPICE, however

- Which meaning do RLC values have in the THz region? You normally don't consider lumped elements at these frequencies.

Cheers
Edgar
--
Edgar J. Kaiser
emPhys Physical Technology
www.emphys.com
Hi, three comments regarding your question: - You can simulate RLC circuits in COMSOL, but - It sounds like this is a task for a circuit simulator like SPICE, however - Which meaning do RLC values have in the THz region? You normally don't consider lumped elements at these frequencies. Cheers Edgar -- Edgar J. Kaiser emPhys Physical Technology http://www.emphys.com

Posted: 1 decade ago 3 juin 2014, 12:13 UTC−4
Hi Edgar,