Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Contact Angle of a sessile droplet

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,
I'm a beginner in using comsol.I would like to measure the static contact angle of a water droplet. The purpose of this measurement is to determine whether a surface is hydrophobic or not. I've the image. Is it possible to measure the angle by comsol? Please help.

8 Replies Last Post 13 avr. 2017, 05:35 UTC−4
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 1 decade ago 3 oct. 2013, 05:18 UTC−4
Hi,

I am not sure if I understand your question correctly. You have an image of a sessile droplet sitting on a surface and you want to determine the contact angle from this image?
If this is correct then you need some kind of image processing procedure. This is certainly not the scope of COMSOL. COMSOL solves systems of PDEs on a finite element grid. You may be able to model a sessile droplet if you know the surface and droplet properties. That's a different story.

Cheers
Edgar

--
Edgar J. Kaiser
emPhys Physical Technology
www.emphys.com
Hi, I am not sure if I understand your question correctly. You have an image of a sessile droplet sitting on a surface and you want to determine the contact angle from this image? If this is correct then you need some kind of image processing procedure. This is certainly not the scope of COMSOL. COMSOL solves systems of PDEs on a finite element grid. You may be able to model a sessile droplet if you know the surface and droplet properties. That's a different story. Cheers Edgar -- Edgar J. Kaiser emPhys Physical Technology http://www.emphys.com

Posted: 1 decade ago 3 oct. 2013, 09:51 UTC−4
Hi,