Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

COMSOL Video Player of Displacements (Solid Mechanics Module).

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello All,

I'm new to COMSOL, and I am doing a simulation in which I have a droplet modeled as a rigid body on an truck radiator fin (aluminum) surface. The ultimate goal of the study is to study the evaporative cooling. The main purpose of this initial analysis was just to have a visual of the droplet displacement (in the Video Player). Given the input forces and the equation of motion I have derived and put in all the appropriate prescribed displacements as functions of time.

So when I allow the Player to run, or go through the frames, the motion of the droplet seems correct (as per the prescribed displacements). However, no matter what time range I utilize, whether it's range(0,0.04,10), range(0,0.04,20) or range(0,0.04,100) the video that the Player generates always shows the same displacement (same end point at the end of the respective time ranges). Is there something I'm doing wrong with this?