AC/DC Currents flowing through air region

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I'm pretty new to COMSOL but have been required to use it for an assignment, so I'm not fully aware of how to problem solve when I get strange things happening like this!

I am building a model using the AC/DC module with frequency domain analysis. I have a homogenised coil with many turns situated above a 1.5mm layer of CFRP, then underneath that there is a 3mm layer of Aluminium. The aluminium layer has a cuboid region cut out of it, which one half of the coil is located above. The cuboid region was created by subtracting a cuboid from the plate, which then leaves a region that isn't allocated as aluminium and therefore defaults to air. I have double checked and the region is indeed air and is not overriden by any other material.

However, the Eddy currents produced in the Al layer are clearly just flowing straight through this air region as if it wasn't there and it was all just part of the Al sample. In the screenshot attached, the slice runs directly through the centre of the coil and air region, which is the square directly under one half of the coil. It clearly shows the current just flowing straight through it, which isn't physical. The "n-shaped" object to the left of the air region is a Ti rivet, which should also have some impact on the current, but it doesn't seem to.

It looks like COMSOL is considering the entire sample to just be one solid block of conductive material, but I've checked and double checked my material assignment and I can't see why this should be the case. Can anyone offer a possible solution please? Thanks in advance!

The COMSOL version I'm running is V6.2.

5 Replies Last Post 29 août 2024, 03:52 UTC−4
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 1 week ago 22 août 2024, 12:25 UTC−4

Hi Luke,

that is indeed a little mysterious.