Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Electric Field Norm - Time Dependent Study

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I'm relatively new to COMSOL and I had a question regarding the electric field norm in a time dependent study. I have 2 electrodes in a medium (one grounded and the other is a pulsed electric field with an amplitude of 500V[achieved using a square waveform function wv1(t)]). I've noticed in the time-dependent study that the range of times have always resulted in the same electric field norm (ie. range(0,1,40) and range(0,1,80) result in the same electric field norm). I was wondering if this is supposed to happen, or if there is something I am missing. I would expect the electric field norm to increase due to the increased number of pulses with increasing time. But this is not the case.

Any help would be appreciated! Thank you for time.

4 Replies Last Post 5 avr. 2021, 02:00 UTC−4
Robert Koslover Certified Consultant

Posted: 3 years ago 4 avr. 2021, 11:12 UTC−4
  1. There may be important details in your model that could be involved, so I encourage you to upload it to the forum.
  2. If by "electric field norm," you are simply referring to the customary norm of the electric field, then for a typical time-domain study, the field would be real (as opposed to complex) and so its norm would simply be its absolute value (i.e., its vector magnitude, which is the square root of the sum of the squares of its x, y, and z components), at any particular point in space and time (i.e., this would in general have dependence on both space and time.)