Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Locked This discussion was locked by a forum moderator.

Problems with Swept Meshing

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I am new to Comsol and know very little about different features of the software. I am interested in finding the Eigen frquencies of a layered resonator (using a 3D object)). The resonator has a square mass (500X500X5 micron^3) at the it's center. This square mass is held by four beam (250X120X3.3) attached at the center of it's edges. These fingers have 7 layers of different materials. The square mass does not have layers. Thickness of these layers vary between 10 nm and 2 microns. The separation between the bottom layer of the square mass (which is at Z=0) and the bollom layer of the fingers (which is at Z=1.7) is 1.7 microns, i.e. they are not on the same plane.

Now, I use the swept mess feature along with free triangular option. To do this I start from the top layers of the beams and move down. I mesh the square mass along with the bottom most layer of the beams.However, while doing this I get "Unsupported topology or domain".

Can you get me out of this?

-Sankha

36 Replies Last Post 5 août 2015, 09:47 UTC−4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 24 févr. 2012, 02:30 UTC−5
Hi

sweep mesh can be quite tough on complex geoemtrry models. Basically it accepts only models that are made in layers that is all swept domains must have the same height in the sweep direction, and only one common boundary defining your top (or bottom) sweep mesh "seed" is allowed. Often you can simply cut your geometry with a few internal boundaries for the large parts to get the seep to go through.