Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Singular matrice associated with moving mesh

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everybody,

first, I am very new to Consol :)

I built a 2D-model of a silicon membrane. I defined a point load "F" that stresses the membrane which gets deformed subsequently. An electrode under the membrane forms a capacitor together with a ground-electrode. Deformation of the membrane results in a change of the capacitance.

What I want to do is solving for the value of capacitance with a parametric solver and varying "F".

I get a solution for the deflection of the membrane so far. But the capacitance stays constant and doesn't change for different "F".
So I read I have to use a moving mesh, that allows Comsol to compute the electric field for a changing geometry.

I tried to upgrade my model with such a moving mesh, but I can't get a solution. I used values "u" and "v", that describe the deflection of the membrane, for the prescribed deformation of the moving mesh. But all I get is an error message, that tells me something about a singular matrix together with the variables "u" and "v"... Tried hard, but no idea.

Perhaps somebody has some minutes to check my model. It's Comsol 4.

Thanks a lot in advance!
Chris

7 Replies Last Post 4 janv. 2011, 05:28 UTC−5
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 3 janv. 2011, 02:25 UTC−5
Hi

I'm not sure if it is some limitation of v4.0 (I have the latest 4.1 that is much smoother).