Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Assign pressure signal to nodes, other approach in COMSOL?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello together,

I am quite new in using COMSOL and I encountered a problem. I have done a simulation with another FEM program and I saved the nodal values for the acoustic pressure along a certain distance in a txt file. These I want to assign now to the nodes in my COMSOL model (it has the same mesh) in order to complete the calculation. Is that possible? So far I have not found anything considering nodal loads...

My approach was to place points where the nodes of the mesh from the other FEM program are and to assign a monopole source to these, which read the pressure values from the other simulation. In order to check this approach I implemented only one monopole source with a user defined pressure amplitude of 10 Pa and run the simulation in the frequency domain from 1 to 1000 Hz. If I take a look at the results, the pressure at the node is much higher than the assigned amplitude (up to 200 Pa instead of 10 Pa). I supposed that an oscillation with an initial amplitude of 10 Pa could be observed which is decaying with increasing distance to the source. But that's apparently not the case, the wanted value of 10 Pa is reached after one period of oscillation (especially a problem for large wave lengths). Does anybody know what's wrong here?

Thanks a lot for your help! Kind regards,

Peter Nermer

3 Replies Last Post 29 janv. 2016, 03:25 UTC−5
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 8 years ago 20 janv. 2016, 12:39 UTC−5
Hi Peter

I'm afraid you need to do a little "brain wash" while moving to COMSOL.
The "old" generation FEM programs defined everything w.r.t. the mesh and the nodes. The mesh was the starting point.